If you didn’t have staff synced to Clever prior to March 26, 2019, your current staff accounts will not be impacted by this product update.
We’re expanding the SSO portal to more non-instructional staff - beyond those who need administrative permissions to applications - so they can get the same secure, easy access to their business or HR applications and other online programs within the Clever portal.
When we first started expanding the types of users Clever could support beyond students, teachers, and district administrators, we added a new user role called “school administrator”. These users have access to applications to help support their schools. We’ve made it super easy for district admins to share school administrators and they were often implicitly shared alongside students and teachers when using the “Sharing by District” rule.
We want to make sure that even as you add additional staff, you explicitly share data with applications.
If you had staff synced to Clever prior to March 26, 2019, once we make this change, current staff will lose access to all learning applications and you will need to re-share staff data.
There are three ways to do this within Clever:
- Sharing by District
- Sharing by School
- Sharing by Rules
These changes will take effect after your next successful sync (after you unpause, if you are currently paused) or when you next adjust your sharing rules.
Sharing by District
Previously when sharing by district, staff would also be shared with the application. If you’d like to keep this behavior, you’ll now need to check a box to confirm that you’d like all staff to be shared:
If you do not check the box to share all staff, we will not share any staff with the application. If you’d like to share some but not all staff, you should set up “Sharing by School” or “Sharing by Rules”.
Sharing by School
Sharing by school is not changing, but please note that when you share a school, we will share all staff associated with that school. If you’d like to limit the number of staff shared, you should share by rules.
Sharing by Rules
When sharing by rules, you must create a “Share by Staff” rule in order for any staff to be shared with an application.
By default, when sharing staff, we won’t share any additional schools. The only schools shared with the application will be ones shared by the students, teachers, and sections you’ve specified in other rules.
If you need to share additional schools, you can edit the rule to share specific schools or share all schools associated with the shared staff: