This article will walk you through sharing data with an application once the application has accepted your request to connect via Clever.
What are application sharing permissions?
Once an application has been added to a district's Clever Portal, district admins configure sharing permissions in order to determine what data should be shared with the app, and which district users should be able to access the application from their individual Clever Portals.
Applications will not have access to any district data in Clever that has not been specifically shared with them via the application sharing permissions.
How do I start sharing data with an application?
Clever acts as a repository that stores the data from a district's student information system (SIS) which is then shared with each application. A district might share different data with each unique application depending on the type of application it is, licensing contingencies, and so on. In Clever, this is done by setting up sharing permissions.
Here’s how to set your data sharing permissions for an application for the first time:
- From your Clever district dashboard > Home page, click on an application name to be directed to the application’s overview page.
- Select ‘Begin setup’ and follow the steps in the guide to finalize your connection with the application.
Step 1: Set sharing
You’ll specify which sharing type you would like to use in order to share data with the application. These settings will also determine which of your district users will have the application available to them in their individual Portals.
You have four options for how to share data:
- 1. Use the application’s sharing recommendation
- 2. Copy sharing rules from another app
- If you select this option, all records that are shared with the chosen application will also be shared with the one you're currently setting up.
- Please note: copying the sharing only happens once - if you make changes to sharing with the original application, they will not be reflected in the app you're currently setting up (or vice versa)
- 3. Share all records in the district
- If you select this option, all schools, students, teachers, and sections in the district will be shared. You will also have the option to include staff in the data sharing with the application.
- 4. Share all records for specific schools
- If you select this option all students, students, teachers, sections, and staff associated with the selected schools will be shared with the application.
- 5. Customize your sharing
- Select ‘Click here to customize your sharing’ to navigate to the data sharing page to configure customized sharing rules. Read this article to learn more about how to share by rules.
- Once you've selected your sharing type, select 'Save' to move on to step 2.
Step 2: Data validation
- Once you’ve shared data, we’ll check for issues that might prevent a record from being synced.
- Please note that you may need to wait a few minutes while we process your sharing settings. Any data error and warnings will appear on this page when processing is completed.
- If you see an error, this means that the flagged records will not be accessible in the application - users will not be able to log in and data will be missing.
- If you see a warning, this means that the flagged records will be accessible but users may have a degraded experience within the application.
- If you have data that is flagged, please review the impacted records carefully. We recommend resolving as many of these data quality issues as possible to ensure that all of the data is successfully synced with the application and all desired users are able to access the application.
- For more information on resolving these data warnings and errors, check out our guide to data warnings and errors.
- Once you've reviewed any data quality issues, select 'Next' to move on to step 3.
Step 3: Finalize setup
- Now that you have enabled data sharing with the application and resolved any data quality issues, the application connection is complete!
- For some applications, you will need to take additional steps to finalize the app connection. Those additional steps will be outlined on this page.
- For single sign-on (SSO) applications, users will be able to access the application on the launch date.
- Once you have read the instructions to finalize your app connection, select 'Finish'.
- If you need to go back to edit the sharing rules for an application, feel free to reference this guide for more information about the different types of sharing permissions.
How do I edit the sharing permissions for an application once the setup guide has been completed?
To edit sharing permissions, from your district dashboard > Home page, click on the application's name to open their overview page. Then, select 'Edit sharing' under the 'Shared Data' table. You can reference this guide for more information about the different types of sharing permissions.