When a district’s student information (SIS) syncs to Clever or the district makes a change in their sharing permissions with your application, this can result in a significant change in the amount of rostering data available in Clever’s API for this district.
If you enable safety thresholds, every time a district syncs or changes their sharing settings, Clever will check to see if there are major data changes. If so, we’ll prevent district data from being updated in Clever’s API until the changes are reviewed and approved by your team.
Enabling safety thresholds is an important part of syncing rostering information for a district as it ensures that your app team is aware of any potentially significant changes to a district’s data. Safety thresholds are a safeguard to prevent potentially incorrect or undesired changes from being synced to your application.
What are safety thresholds?
If a district’s most recent sync or an update in their sharing permissions results in the following changes, a safety hold will be triggered:
- Over 75% of any data type (e.g. schools, students, teachers, sections) being updated
- Over 10% of any data type (e.g. schools, students, teachers, sections) being deleted
When major changes are detected, the district will go into the ‘Requires Review’ state. Data for that district will not be updated in Clever until the changes are either reverted by the district or approved by a member of your team.
Every day, Clever will send a digest of any districts that are awaiting review to users who have subscribed to emails about sharing changes and connected districts.
While a district’s changes are awaiting review, the data will not be updated until either the district reverts the changes or a member of your team approves them. Syncs requiring a review will need to be manually approved on a per district basis for these changes to be synced, which can be done in the district profile page, Sync Status tab.
Once a safety hold is approved, the district’s data will be fully available in Clever’s API.
How to enable safety thresholds:
To enable safety thresholds, navigate to Settings > District Setup tab in the dashboard.
Once safety thresholds are enabled, Clever will begin checking for major changes any time a district syncs or changes their sharing settings. You can enable or disable this setting at any time, but if there are districts that are awaiting review when you disable the feature, their data will not be updated until their next sync or sharing change.
How to approve districts that require a review:
When you log into your dashboard, we’ll let you know if there are any districts that are awaiting review. You can click on this alert or filter for districts where Sync Status is ‘Requires Review’ to see all districts that have major data changes.
Once you click into a district’s profile, you will see an alert that the district has major data changes that require your team’s review. You can click on this alert or on the Sync Status tab to view the changes.
If the changes look good - they’re expected, or won’t cause major issues - you can click the ‘Approve changes’ button. Once the changes are approved, Clever will process the latest data changes and update the API accordingly.
If you’re not sure if the changes are intentional or if the changes could cause major issues, you can use the ‘Email district’ link to reach out to the district’s team.