Teachers and students can chat back and forth with Messages right from the Clever Portal! From the Messages tab, you can search for a student and send them a message. You can turn your Messages on or off at any time. To find out more, read below!
To get started, teachers will:
Navigate to the Messages tab at the top of their Portal and select 'Get started'.
Once there, you can customize how your account will be displayed to students. Teachers can change how their name is displayed, and upload a custom picture or image by selecting the upload icon.
To send a message, first select whether you want to message a student or guardian. Message threads can only be sent between two people (i.e. one teacher and one student, or one teacher and one guardian).
Once the user type is selected, enter the student or guardian's name in the search bar or select the user's name from the list on the left-hand side. You can search for guardians using the guardian name or the name of their associated student(s).
Teachers can also filter users by class. To filter by class, click on the Classes drop-down menu to find the desired class. Once a class is selected, only students and guardians from that class will appear in the list of users below.
To send a message, select Send or press the return key. Please note, messages cannot be deleted or undone. As such, please review all messages thoroughly before sending.
Once the message has been sent, the student will receive a notification in their Portal letting them know they have a new message from their teacher.
When a student sends a message to you, you will receive a notification at the top of your Portal. A numerical value will appear to display the total number of new and unread messages. Read more about Message notifications below!
As long as one of their teachers has Messages turned on, families will see the Messages icon on their Family Portal.
When they receive a message from a teacher, they will be notified in the navigation bar of the Family Portal and the appropriate teacher message will be highlighted within the Messages tab:
From the Messages page, families can view new and previous messages from their teachers and send a reply to continue the conversation. Families will see all threads from teachers who have enabled Messages in the Messages tab. If a teacher has enabled Messages, the family member can start or continue a chat with these teachers at any time.
If a message is not viewed within 3 hrs of send, the family member will receive an email notification from Clever in their preferred language that alerts them of the pending message. A sample email can be viewed below:
Teachers can customize their Messages settings to allow for sound and browser notifications. When you receive a message from a student or parent you can choose to be notified by a sound, through your browser, or both!
By default, browser notifications will be set to 'off'; however, you can update this at any time! Once browser notifications are available, you will see a pop-up notification on the Messages tab. To update your notifications, click on Settings.
If you'd like to enable browser notifications, toggle the 'Browser notifications' button to 'on'.
When turning browser notifications on, a pop-up window will open asking if you'd like to 'Allow' or 'Block' these notifications. To continue with turning your browser notifications on, select 'Allow'.
Once you have selected 'Allow' the 'Browser notifications' toggle will be green.
If you choose to 'Block' notifications the toggle will become disabled. To enable browser notifications in the future, you will need to go to your browser preferences and enable them from there. (See these resources for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge).
When you're done, simply select 'Save' and your settings will be updated!
By default, sound notifications will be set to 'on', but you can adjust this at any time! To do this, navigate to your Settings and toggle the 'Sound notifications' button 'on' or 'off'. A green toggle will indicate that the sound notifications are 'on'.
Whether turning the notifications on or off, don't forget to select 'Save' once you're done. You can always edit these settings as needed!
You can turn Messages on or off at any time!
To disable messages from being sent or received, select the 'Settings' link next to your name. Once there, select 'Turn off' and select 'Save'.
If a student tries to send you a message while your Messages are turned off, they will be notified and not be able to send you a message until you have turned Messages back on.
You can turn your Messages back on at any time from the 'Settings' link to begin chatting again!
How can I confirm a message has been received?
- When a message has been viewed by the recipient, the word Read will appear underneath the message.
Can I send a message to multiple students at once?
- At this time messages can only be sent back and forth between one teacher and one student at a time.
Who has access to my message history?
- All message history will be saved until the end of the school year and can be requested from Clever by a Clever Admin.
Can messages be deleted or edited?
- Messages cannot be deleted or edited.
How do I view unread messages?
- Unread messages will remain in bold on the left-hand side, with a blue marker signifying that they are unread. When you click an unread message, your chat thread with the recipient will open and you can read the message.
- Once read, the red notification number at the top of the screen will decrease to the total number of unread messages that remain.
How does Clever promote respectful messaging?
- If a student sends a message that contains a swear word, a dialogue will display that prompts the student to confirm they would like to send their message. They can choose to select Don't send and edit their message or to select Send and the message will be delivered to their teacher.
At this time, Clever cannot detect swear words that appear within another word or if appended by a punctuation mark. Example: "word!"
Why does a message have an alphanumeric string instead of a name?
- If a student's name is an alphanumeric string instead of their actual name, it is because the student has been unenrolled from your class or they have left the district. We provide access to these historical messages as they may have content that is of value to teachers.