If your district makes large changes to the data that is synced to Clever, we put a hold on the sync to make sure the changes are intentional. In a very similar fashion, if changes to your sync or the sharing permissions for an application would cause a large percentage of data shared with the app to change or be deleted, app-side safety thresholds will not allow that data to be synced to the application until a member of the app team has had a chance to review the data.
App-side safety thresholds are an important part of syncing rostering information as it ensures that both you and the app team are aware of any potentially significant changes to your district’s data. Holds are a safeguard to prevent potentially incorrect or undesired changes from being synced to an application.
If your district’s most recent sync or an update in your sharing permissions results in over 75% of any data type (e.g. schools, students, teachers, sections) being updated or over 10% being deleted, an application safety hold will be triggered.
Once a safety hold is approved, the district’s data will be fully available in Clever’s API for the application to pull.
How to know if your district-app connection is on hold
You will know if your connection to an application is on hold based on the status of the application as seen on the homepage of your district dashboard. If the application has a status of ‘Requires App Review’, then a hold has been placed on your district’s connection to the application:
By navigating to the Overview page of the application, you can also view the application’s status:
Next steps to continue syncing your district’s data with an app on hold
Please reach out to the application’s team directly to work with their team on reviewing your district’s recent changes and releasing the app-side hold.